Do

black-woman-dream-bubble-though-353x179

My word for this year is do.  I always say that I want to do this but never fall through with it.  I start something and don’t finish; I have a problem with executing my goals.  No more of that this year or ever.  I realized that I hold my own self back.   Holding the most important person in life back is easy.  You don’t believe in yourself!  Simple.  I know this may sound cliche but if you don’t believe in yourself then how in the hell do you expect someone else to?  That saying is so true.  At times I find other people believing in me more than myself.  Is it because I know more about myself than they do?  Do they see more than what I see?  Am I just not capable of making my own dreams into  reality?  I just let so many things and the people around me dictate my perception of how my life should be.  If you’re having an issue or trying to figure out what you want to do, think of the following things:

1.  Is this what you really want to do?  -It’s so easy to conform now a days.  You see people doing make up, owning their own businesses, working for an event planning company, and etc that you just want to try everything.  Not saying that trying out things to see what works for you isn’t something you shouldn’t do but you have to figure out what it is that YOU want to do!  At the end of the day, you’re the one who has to start at square one and make things happen for yourself!  If you want to be a famous designer, take the proper precautions to train and master your craft!

2.   Don’t be afraid to share your aspirations. -At times, depending on our career paths, we don’t like to share our life long goals and careers with people because we’re scared that it doesn’t sound realistic to others.  What I mean by not sounding realistic is that it won’t ever happen for us. That we will never be that pro basketball player, a dancer, an actress and the list goes on.  So we feel like, why share it?  The real reason behind that is simply because we don’t believe that we can’t do or be that.  Once we believe that we could be any and everything, we would boast to everyone in the entire world our aspirations.

3.  Venture out! -If you know you live in a small town or a state where nothing is popping, then it’s time for you to take a business trip.  If your passion is acting, then go to California for a week and go on auditions.  Even if you don’t land a gig at least you’ll know the locations, talk to the right people, and know how the whole audition process works.  Getting ideas for upcoming projects and learning their different cultures.  Don’t limit yourself.  If you have the money, go!

4.  Take advantage of what you do have! -People are always saying there’s no opportunities where they are and there’s nothing here but don’t realize that there are many things they can do that’s right in their backyards (figuratively speaking).   If you want to be a movie Director and produce films, there are annual film festivals that comes to your city every year.  Submit a play or two. Volunteer to work the box office.  Sign up for workshops with well known playwrights.   If there are upcoming music artist in your area and you want to be a celebrity stylist some day, get in touch with them so you can put it on your resume.  If your passion is Theatre, join a company who puts on local plays.  The list goes on.  Use what you can easily get access to!  It’s great that you want to aim high but take advantage of the things that are small so you can get experience.

5.  Don’t worry about leaving people behind during your quest. -This is probably one of the reasons that hold a lot of us back from doing all of the things we want to do because we don’t want to leave our family and friends behind.  If you want to make things happen for yourself then you have to be selfish.  Even if that means moving to another state or out of the country.  No one is going to help make your dreams come to true but YOU.  If there’s an opportunity that is far away, take it.  If you fail then you fail but that doesn’t mean that you’re a failure.  That just means that God has something else planned for you.  Don’t let the fear of not being where you’re familiar keep you from  your adventurous journies.

 

There are so much more I can put but you get the picture.  Execute your dos, set goals, and make plans.  Be in charge of your destiny and don’t be afraid of yourself.

 

Black girl out,

 

Shanella B.

 

 

 

Leave a comment