In A Time by Shanella B

A Short Story about two characters named Nina and Jaceon who ran into each other at the Supermarket.  Their relationship developed years ago in college but let’s just say that things got in the way.  I wonder will anything transpire after this run in.  Is there possibly something still there?

us

Tonight must be my lucky night because as soon as I pull in there is an empty space in the front just waiting for me.  I grab my purse then start heading towards the entrance.  As soon as I walk in I go straight to the meat section.  I cannot decide whether I want steak or chicken.  I can whip up almost anything with steak or chicken.  Both will do.  I lean in to grab the streak when suddenly I hear someone call my name from behind.  His voice sounds so angelic…mature, and so familiar.  

He says, “Nina?”

I know this voice so I look up,

“Jaceon?”  It is him, the guy that went to college with who I practically fell for in many ways than one.   

“Nina!  Long time no see.  How you been?”  We lean in to hug each other and I inhale that cologne that I loved so much.  It was a mixture of French Vanilla and some other fancy cologne that I could never pronounce.  Plus, he always had great hygiene.   He still looks amazing.  Just like how I remember.  Those dimples are so deep that I can stick a quarter in them and it will stay.  

“Hey Jaceon!  I am doing wonderful.  How about yourself?”

Jaceon smiles, “I can’t complain.  You’re still cooking I see.”

I laugh, “Yes, I am still cooking.”  

We stare at each other for a little while before it became extremely awkward.  I used to always cook for him in college.  I cooked for him more than I ever cooked for my actual boyfriend.  It was something so different about him that  made me want to do things I never did.  He ends the staring war,

“Well, it was nice seeing you.  Hopefully I will see you around.”  

Lord knows I want to say what exactly is on my mind but I keep it simple,

“Yeah, hopefully.  Oh, and it was nice seeing you as well.  Take care.”  

Damn, he looks so fine.  We both smile and went our separate ways but still manage to end up at the checkout line right beside each other.  

I leave out before him.  I feel so weird inside; like a nerdy girl being asked to prom by the most popular guy in school.  Maybe somewhere along the lines of Carrie minus the bloodshed and telekinesis.  I take my keys out of my purse when suddenly I hear footsteps behind me and someone calling my name so I stop.  As I turn around, he walks up to me and says,

“I’m still taken back by the fact that I ran into you tonight.  Wow, it’s been six years.” We met at Columbia University and I am originally from Long Island and he’s from Chicago.  He used to tell me if things worked out between us then he’ll move to New York to be with me.  I find it funny how he’s here. 

“What are you doing here?  I thought you moved back to Chicago after graduation?”  

“Well, I thought I was going to go back too but I stayed around here for a little while longer.  I studied abroad in Italy for the summer with the Literature Club.  I came back to New York and was offered a full scholarship to NYU for Grad School in English Lit which is also where I currently teach.”

So he’s been here the whole time.  It baffles me that he just stopped talking to me.  Why didn’t he tell me that he was still in New York?  I didn’t want to ask him that.   

“That’s good to hear.  I’m glad you’re doing well for yourself.”

I am waiting for him to ask me how or what I’m doing but I guess he’s not interested.  

“So do you live around here?”

“I do; I live on Kings Point Rd.  What about you?”  

“That’s crazy!  I live Sunset Rd just two minutes away.”  

Hmmmm, so I can stalk him.  At least if I ever get caught stalking him I don’t have a far way to travel.  Another awkward ass silence…I think to myself someone break the ice, someone break the ice!!  We both open our mouths at the same time but he speaks first,

“We have to go out to dinner to catch up or something.”  

I am turning red but luckily these fluorescent lights’ surrounding us doesn’t give it away.  

“We should.”  I dig into my purse and pull out my business card.  He takes it and says,

“Oh, you’re getting all businessy on me now huh?”

“No, I rushed out of my house and forgot to grab my phone.”  

I am lying; my phone is right in my purse.  I didn’t want to be the one to get his number.  Let’s see how interested he still is in me and if he’ll text me.  

“Oh, ok.  I see.  So are you free around 6:00pm tomorrow evening?”.

Without any hesitation, I respond,

“Let’s go with 6:30pm.”  I can’t have him making all the decisions right now.

“Ok cool.  I’ll shoot you a text tonight or tomorrow.”   

“Sounds good; see you later.”

He says goodbye and walks across the parking lot to his car.  I get in my car but I wait for him to pull off first.  I don’t have enough time to daydream about him because of my short commute so I just sit here.  He still looks the same but just a little older.  Our connection we had was so indescribable that it almost amazes me why we never got together.  We both were in relationships but they didn’t go to school with us.  We fooled around a little bit.  Ok, a lot.  We remained good friends after we graduated but soon after that the text and phone calls stopped.  I wonder if he’s seeing anybody.  He wouldn’t have asked me out if he did, right?  So I finally start my car to head home.  I pull up to my drive and I look at the time and it’s already 9:12pm.  I really don’t feel like cooking at all.  Shit, why didn’t he ask to take me out tonight?  Maybe he has a family at home.  

Let’s see here; I have two T-bone steak, sautéed shrimp, homemade mashed potatoes, and asparagus.  To top it off, a glass of white moscato wine.  I’m so full to the point where I can’t even move.  I finally work up enough strength to go to the kitchen to wash dishes.  A flashback of our zoo date came across my mind.  Despite the fact that a bird pooped on my head during the lion act, the date was pretty fun.  At this point my fingers are prunes from my hands sitting here daydreaming about Jaceon.  I finish up washing dishes and plop back on the couch.  While I’m flipping through the channels, my phone starts to vibrate.  I hope it isn’t Michael but then I realize that he doesn’t have my new phone number.  I look at my screen.  The text says, Hey, it’s Jaceon.  I just wanted you to save my number.  Again, it was nice seeing you.  Goodnight, see you tomorrow.  His number is still the same after all these years.  I have goosebumps; the déjà vu of those butterflies that I once had for him in undergrad.  I didn’t want to seem desperate so I wait like a good six minutes to reply.  I open up the text message and reply, Saved.  It was nice seeing you too.  See you tomorrow night.  Goodnight. I thought the conversation ended until he texts, There’s a new Italian Restaurant called Vercello’s that I’ve been meaning to try.  Hope you still like pasta.  Wow, he still remembers my undying love for pasta.  I text back Yes, I still do.  Our text conversations ends, I make my way to my room and dive head first into my bed.  Oh how I missed my king size bed and satin sheets.

 

Want to know how their date went?  Tune in later on this week.

 

 

Leave a comment